← Back to rubinobservatory.org

Rubin Observatory LSST Chief Scientist

J. Anthony Tyson, Rubin Observatory LSST Chief Scientist

University of California, Davis
Department of Physics
Davis, CA 95616
(530) 752-3830

Tony Tyson is the Rubin Observatory LSST Chief Scientist. His research interests include cosmology, dark matter, dark energy, observational optical astronomy, experimental gravitational physics, and new instrumentation. He has been a Distinguished Professor of Physics at UC Davis since 2003. He received his Ph.D. degree from University of Wisconsin in 1967 and was a Member of the Technical Staff at Bell Laboratories from 1969 to 2003. Honors: member American Philosophical Society, member National Academy of Sciences, Aaronson Memorial Prize, Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and Fellow, American Physical Society.

Financial support for Rubin Observatory comes from the National Science Foundation (NSF) through Cooperative Agreement No. 1258333, the Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Science under Contract No. DE-AC02-76SF00515, and private funding raised by the LSST Corporation. The NSF-funded Rubin Observatory Project Office for construction was established as an operating center under management of the Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy (AURA).  The DOE-funded effort to build the Rubin Observatory LSST Camera (LSSTCam) is managed by the SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory (SLAC).
The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 to promote the progress of science. NSF supports basic research and people to create knowledge that transforms the future.
NSF and DOE will continue to support Rubin Observatory in its Operations phase. They will also provide support for scientific research with LSST data.   

Contact   |   We are Hiring

Admin Login

Back to Top